Call Of The Day -- Support Louisiana HB 397

HB 397 is on the floor of the House today pending final passage. This is the bill that prohibits the court from suspending the driver's license of a defendant who has failed to pay a criminal fine if the defendant is financially unable to pay the fine.

Currently when a fine is levied against a person convicted of any criminal offense, including any violation of the Louisiana Highway Regulatory Act, or any municipal or parish ordinance regulating traffic, the judge of the court may order their driver's license be surrendered for a period not to exceed 180 days. If after the 180 days the fine has not been paid, the license will be sent to the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections.

ONE CALL TO MAKE:

Call your State Representative to let them know how you feel.

If you don't know who your state representative is, it takes about half a minute to find out. Click on this link to FindMyLegislators.  Enter your address and click on the Find button. The application will present a link containing your House District and the name of your representative. Click on the link and the application will present your representative’s page including their phone number, email address, fax number, and more.

SAMPLE SCRIPT:

Hello. My name is [Your Name] and I'm an active voter from New Orleans, ZIP Code 70118 [Or wherever you’re from].

I'm calling in support of HB 397, which prohibits the suspension of a driver's license of a defendant who is financially unable to pay a criminal fine. A person needs their drivers license to get to work to earn the money to pay a fine

Thank you.